It’s a Trap! My Thoughts on Phil

admiral-ackbar

 

I guess Miley Cyrus’ wisdom isn’t true.  You can’t say what you want.

And yes, I was offended by Phil Robertson’s comments about homosexuality.

Not that he said homosexuality is a sin (a lot cruder things are said on an average top 40 song, like calling girlfriends b—–s, and ho’s), but how he went about saying it.  I know many people will praise Phil for what he said and say he is a hero, but do I need to cover my kid’s ears while he says it?  I agree with Southern Baptist Theological Seminary president Al Mohler when he wrote on his blog, “The problem is the graphic nature of Robertson’s language and the context of his statements.” The graphic nature isn’t about calling homosexuality a sin but how he chose to describe it. He trivialized sexuality to a mere throwaway behavior.

I believe this is why there is such uproar over his comments.  They pay attention more to his crudeness and not what he said.  Phil failed to realize his comments were in GQ magazine and not the back woods of Louisiana.  In a sense it’s like famous line by Admiral Ackbar from Return of the Jedi, “It’s a trap!”

What if these words of his got the attention instead? “I would never treat anyone with disrespect just because they are different from me. We are all created by the Almighty and like Him, I love all of humanity. We would all be better off if we loved God and loved each other.”   I believe the crudeness of his remarks offset the intention of what he really said.    However, if I can judge Phil’s personality he isn’t really too worried about the controversy.

In the interview Phil was one who brought up homosexuality after being asked to define sin.  Why homosexuality?  Why not other sins like adultery, lying, or worry?

I wonder how Jesus would define sin to GQ, or Magarey (the interviewer), or A&E?  I cannot put words into Jesus’ mouth but it reminds me of Luke 15 when the scripture says that sinners were all gathered around to hear him.    Sounds like a similar position Phil found himself.  What did Jesus do in this circumstance?

In that setting Jesus tells three stories: The story of the lost sheep, the lost coin, and the lost son. I wonder what would have happened if Phil chose to tell the story of the Prodigal Son and said, “Sin is the attitude of the sons in this story.  God’s attitude toward the sinner is like the Father.”  What if Phil went to the root of sin, our attitude of thumbing our nose at God, and not just focus’ on a particular behavior?

In recent weeks we have seen Pope Francis get TIME’s man of the year award despite his affirmation of the Catholic Church’s view on homosexuality; which teaches that homosexuality is “acts of depravity” that are “intrinsically disordered.”  Or take Rick Warren, now out on his book tour for the Daniel Plan, who said to Piers Morgan on the subject of homosexuality being a sin, “I fear God more then I fear you.” Yet Rick is treated with respect. Why the inconsistency by our culture?

In the end I believe Phil should be shown grace by both sides of the debate.  Where O where is your tolerance of orthodox Christianity A&E?  Have you ever seen that bumper sticker that says “co-exist” with all the different religious symbols?  I wonder how people would react if the symbols were switched to GLAAD, LBTG, Focus on the Family, and Chic-fil-a?  Just a rambling thought.

My conclusion is in the end I believe grace is the most powerful force in the world.  If we want people to move to repentance we must use the power of grace through the cross of Christ.  While we were sinners Christ died for us.

Leave a Reply

