Resources for Sunday’s Message: Buried / Alive 3.24.13

In Palm Sunday’s message Easter was defined as an event that happened around 2000 years ago that still affects your present and impacts your outlook on the future.  The message itself dealt directly with the cross and its call for us to come and die.  We ended the message with the challenge to die every day at the cross and to live by the Spirit.  Below are some thoughts to help you continue on with that goal. 

Questions for meditation:

  1. Jesus invited him to follow him on Calvary Road, to the cross, to the death.  How would you put the process of dying to the cross in your own words?  What do you think it looks like as you live day to day?
  2. How do these two verses compare with your definition?  “If anyone is to come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.”  (Luke 9:23)  “Whoever does not take up his cross and follow me is not worthy of me.”  (Matthew 10:38)
  3. When Jesus took on our sin God abandoned him.  How does Jesus condition reflect our condition in sin?
  4. Jesus breathed his last on the cross.  He died as a sacrifice for our sins.  What would it look like for you breathe your last at the cross?  Read Romans 12:1-3 for further reference.
  5. Once we die at the cross we are called to keep in step with the Spirit.  In your life right now are you behind the Spirit, keeping in step, or racing ahead of the Spirit?

Meditate on God’s word:

  • Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it. Matthew 10:39
  • For we know that our old self was crucified with him so that the body of sin might be done away with, that we should no longer be slaves to sin— because anyone who has died has been freed from sin. Now if we died with Christ, we believe that we will also live with him.”  Romans 6:6-8
  • I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.  Galatians 2:20
  • May I never boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.  Galatians 6:14

 

Prayer: Dear Father in Heaven, Thank you for sending your one and only Son to die on the cross for my sins.  Thank you for giving me the life of the cross, where I deny my own life of death and breathe in the new birth of life into freedom.  Help me to take my cross and to follow you daily.  Father, today I commit to live by the queues of your Spirit.  Keep me in step with the Holy Spirit, not too far behind, not too far ahead.  Father, help me to realize I can only know the freedom that is found in you, the defeat of death, and the hope of better future by dying at the cross.  I forever praise your name.  In Jesus Christ blood and sacrifice I pray, Amen. 

Leave a Reply

