The 5 Best Books I Read in 2012

This year in my reading I have finally made the jump to be a complete e-book reader.  Those days of opening a fresh set of pages and placing it on a shelf in my office when finished are becoming a distant memory.  With that sad thought in mind let me tell you about some great books I read this year.

  1. Deep and Wide, Andy Stanley.  The best book I have ever read on how to make Sunday morning a place where unchurched people can experience the Gospel of Jesus.
  2. The Power of Habit, Charles Duhigg.  This book helped me realize how making key, small changes in an organization can have a huge impact.
  3. Execution, Larry Bossidy and Ram Charan.  These authors outline a terrific strategy on how to structure organizations to actually get something accomplished, and not just talk about it.  As a preacher I talk about getting things done a lot fromthe pulpit, but unless our church is structured to get things done then I am full of hot air.  This helped me learn how to actually get things done as an organization.
  4. The Hour That Changes the World, Dick Eastman.  The most useful tome on prayer, besides Jesus model prayer, that I have ever read.  This book changed how I prayed.  it gave me structure and purpose in how I meet with God.
  5. Erasing Hell, Francis Chan.  Chan dos an excellent job of mixing scholarship, tenderness, and truth into his argument for the reality of hell.
  6. Great by Choice, Jim Collins.  Jim is the guru of businees books and this one delivers on key aspects of leadership that effect church leaders.  In some ways, a response to Gladwell’s book, Outliers, which argues that our circumstances effect our ability to acheive versus our choices, this book makes the opposite argument.  Jim does a good job of outlining how the choices we make as leaders make or break the organization, despite the circumstances.
Leave a Reply

