On Psalm 42:6-7

Your Dose of Dietrich Bonhoeffer

“Why are you so full of heaviness, O my soul?  And why are you so disquieted within me?  Put your trust in God; for I will give thanks to him, who is the help of my countenance, and my God.”

Heaviness and disquietude last only a short time.  They should not take possession of my soul.  Speak to your own soul; do not allow it to torment you and cause you grief.  Say to it: Put your trust in God!  Do not put your trust in sudden good fortune, but trust in God.  Jesus Christ, who is God’s countenance, will certainly be my helper, and I will surely thank him for it.

“Triune God, make my heart firm and let it be grounded only upon you and your help.  Then I will be helped indeed, and I will thank you forever.  Amen.”

Leave a Reply

