When you say, “It’s just the way I am” I hear…

“You don’t love me enough to change.”

Wow!  At my Life Group last night we were discussing the day’s message which focused on how God can heal our emotional brokenness.  We can’t really use the excuse, “It’s just the way that I am.”  God did not create us to have bitterness, rage, or depression, and yet we blame him sometimes. “God made me this way.”  Really?

I thought was a great insight.  She’s right.  By saying it’s just the way I am we are saying to God that we don’t love him enough to change.

Then I thought, you know, He loved my enough to change.  He left heaven.  He mde himself nothing and took on the life of a man.  He left a world of wholeness and entered a world of brokenness for me.  It had to be quite a shock to the system!

He changed even more than that though.  His body changed for me.  His back was ripped to shreds by the Roman guards.  His head was scarred with a thorny crown.  His wrists were pierced by nails.  A sword pierced his side and blood and water flowed.  Jesus allowed his body to be changed, through torture, for my sake, for my sin.

Why did he go through all that change?  Because he loved me.

John 3:16 says, “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”

He loved me enough to go through all that change.  I pray that I love him enough to change too.

Leave a Reply

