Thoughts on May 22 and the Ignorance of Jesus

Today was a good day at church.  I had a busy day at church!  I played the drums in worship (I apologize for the ears of those who heard the noise)!  Then I preached and taught our “Curious?” Seminar after church.    After that class I then went to see the new Pirates of the Caribbean movie. A good fun summer flick.

After reflecting on the day, the subject of enduring love, and the seminar, a familiar thought came to me.  God accepts you just the way you are, but he loves you too much to leave you that way.  I have found the statement to be very true in my life.  Every time I go to God he accepts me, but he also challenges me, stretches me, and makes me become a better person.  In short he is molding me to reflect His Son Jesus.

 My prayer is that this attitude of God is the attitude of our church.  As a family of God we accept you just the way you are, but we love you too much to leave you that way.  Our job is not to convict you (That is the Holy Spirit’s job).  Our job is to encourage you to be more like Christ. 

On the second coming of Jesus I believe we need to remember that Jesus himself said he was ignorant of any such date.  “No one knows about that day or hour, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father.”  Matthew 24:36 (NIV) 

One final comment, in communion today it was said all baptized believers to partake in communion.  The question was asked about someone who isn’t baptized, can take communion in our church? The short answer is yes, it was not intended as an exclusive statement.  Jesus simply said that whenever you do this do this in remembrance of me.  But I will say this, if you believe Jesus died for your sins and you have placed your faith in him, then you must follow the command of Peter after the people at Pentecost believed in Jesus, “Repent and be baptized everyone of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins.  And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit.”  Acts 2:38

Leave a Reply

