Wednesday Night Lesson: The Four Essentials for Joyful Living- Essential #3: I Need a Power to Live On

You need strength to make it, to keep going.  Life will wear you down.  It can drain you completely.  You lose energy and power.  You might even be ready to throw in the towel.  You say, “I’ve done the best I could and I’m tired and I’m sick.”  You need a fresh power supply.

Paul, writing from prison, states in Philippians 1:19, “I will continue to rejoice, for I know that through your prayers and the help given by the Spirit of Jesus Christ what has happened to me will turn out for my deliverance.  I eagerly expect and hope that I will in no way be ashamed.”

Paul notes two things that gives him strength during his four years of imprisonment.  One, the prayers of the people.  And two, the help of God’s spirit.

Also, notice the word hope.  You can’t live without hope.  You’ve got to have hope to cope.  Cornell University did a study of 25,000 POWs from WWII.  They found that a man can face enormous pressure and stress as long as he had hope.  The moment hope is gone you are doomed.

Where do you get your hope to keep going?  God’s answer to your personal energy crisis is Philippians 4:13, “I have strength to face all conditions by the power that Christ gave me.”

LESSON: With God’s power nothing can devastate me.

AMEN!!!

Source: www.pastors.com

Leave a Reply

